Overwhelmed

Standard

Here’s my to-do list for the day: visit the nursing home, schedule kids vaccinations, three appointments for work (did I call him yesterday about today?) haircut, deposit to the bank, pay electric bill (or is it due next week?) call and cancel that silly 30-day trial (did I really think THAT would work?) look for tarp to cover up junk in garage (wait, I’ll move that to the hubby’s list) remind hubby that I want a white tarp, buy Kleenex (stupid cold…) do devotion, find book for devotion…

Bleck. Here comes that “O” word that I am really growing to dislike immensely. Overwhelmed. I can’t do all this God! I think to myself, as I begin to tear up over my healthy breakfast consisting of oatmeal that has been reheated 3 times. I’m sure the microwave has zapped all the nutrients right out of that stuff by now. I feel the tension rising up in my shoulders and a massive headache starting right at the base of my skull. Rebuke it, you say? I don’t think I have the energy for that. I’m just being really honest here. God does honest right? Yes. God does honest. He can’t lie. So, as I’m sitting at the table pondering what to take for my ever-growing migraine, I hear His voice whisper in my ear, as only He can: “Be overwhelmed by Me.” The tears that welled up earlier are back, no longer threatening to spill over, as they already pour onto my cheeks with an odd sensation of happiness, relief, and exhaustion. God is good, you may have heard. When is the last time you stopped to breathe that fact in? God’s ability to calm us down and lift us up at the exact same time is unbelievable to me. He always knows what we need and all we have to do is stop, focus on Him, and breathe. It is truly that simple. My body only does so much. It can only go so fast. I can only keep my foot on the gas pedal for so long before my physical limitations cause me to crash in a fatigued heap on the floor. Mount Washmore (AKA my pile of laundry) appears to have more energy than I do at this point. I’m tired. Yeah, I said it. I’m tired.

Then here comes my God. He swoops in like a Superhero because that’s just a fraction of Who He truly is. It’s ok to rest. It’s ok to sleep. It’s ok to NOT work until you can’t possibly work anymore. It’s ok to be still; do you remember how to do that? It’s ok and it’s all gonna be alright. He saves me. He already saved me from death, from addiction, from a couple disorders like PTSD, and He continues to save me each and every day if I let Him. He restores my soul. Wouldn’t that make a good Scripture?

I’m praying for every one of my brothers and sisters in the family of God today that they realize we can’t do it all. We aren’t called to be God. Only God can do it all. We are in human form and we can’t change that right now. Calm down and let Him lift you up. Let Him overwhelm you with His amazing personality. Pray and let Him do some of the work you’re trying to do on your own. I’m sure He doesn’t mind.

 

 

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you, sweet friend. I needed this today. I get overwhelmed quite often, but I know that my GOD can take care of all of my worry and stress.

    • Thank you for taking the time to thank me.:-) you have been through a lot but you stand out in my mind as one who is truly thankful. You are wonderfully talented and so great at what you do. Don’t you ever think for even half a second that you are not a world-changer because you are.

Leave a Reply

