Pickin’ Pennies

Standard

Not many people will bend down to pick up a penny these days, but as I loaded groceries into my vehicle, I noticed one beside it. Now, as a self-proclaimed “overthinker,” I had to think about stooping down to pick it up prior to the actual event. In my thoughts, God spoke to me. (What? God doesn’t speak to you about currency? Don’t judge me.) I could’ve sworn I heard Him say, “You know, a lot of people want the blessings but there’s not a lot of people that are willing to do any work for them.” Whaa? God surprises me sometimes. And He surprised me this time because I actually understood what He’d said.  While it’s true we don’t have to work to gain God’s grace and we don’t have to work to be forgiven, there is a certain amount of work and sacrifice that comes with His blessings. Now the “work” that I did wasn’t much. Picking up that penny wasn’t back-breaking labor, but I did have to do something. And to be quite honest, I was a little embarrassed to bend over to pick up that penny. What would people think? What might people think of my taking the time out of my day to do something so seemingly trivial? Would they think I (*gasp!) needed the money that bad? So many of us have a tendency to build our lives around what people will think of us. I think God was trying to show me something in that moment that gave some clarity to His blessings. As I stooped, in the rain no less, to pick up that wet penny, I saw a dime not too far from it. So I felt God smile as I smiled back and said, “Yes God, I’ll do the work.” God always “pays us” more than what we deserve. And he will never ever stop blessing us and blessing our work. God has a plan and a purpose; we just have to be about it.

Leave a Reply

