Dragons and Zinnias

Standard

All too recently our daughter would wake us approximately 3, sometimes 4 or 5 times each night, claiming there were monsters and dragons in her room, specifically on the ceiling. She needed to go potty. She needed medicine for a sudden onset of sickness. She couldn’t get her blanket “to work.” I can almost hear you chucking as I write this. It is not as cute @ 1:30, 2, 3:30, & 4 am. God intended for us to rest. I plan to do just that between the hours of 10 & 5. I really like my sleep. My husband really likes his sleep. We REALLY like for us both to get our sleep. It is not a chipper, skipping-through-the-bean-field-household if we are not rested. As Godly parents, we try to do the best we can. I hear the Scriptures in my mind about training them up and respecting our Lord as well as the one about, heaven forbid, breaking their spirits. I think on (I.e. “Meditate”, for those of you scared of that word) these daily. My daughter has a beautiful, cheery spirit that must never be broken.
Don’t you think we, as human beings, are like this as well? We begin this life with spirit that is undeniable-nothing can stop us! God’s got it and we’re on the same team! Then, we get hurt. Whether it’s by the church or family or friends, and our very core takes a hit. If we don’t deal with it, which is the very last thing we wanna do (why is confronting the issue so difficult?) it grows like an ugly little seed that our Creator never intended for us to manage.
Gardens take a lot of work (we had to mow ours down this year if that tells you anything) and God never meant for us to tend to seeds and plants that weren’t in the plan.
My husband and I get so excited when the seed catalogs come in before spring; there’s an excitement as I even type that. All the thoughts of what could be! The beauty, the flavor, the sharing! (I adore sharing…above all else, possibly even above my “encourager” status, I’m a sharer.) I have visions of taking tomatoes and zucchini and bouquets of colorful zinnias to everyone who lives within a 5 mile radius. (And that’s being conservative, I think to myself. After all, we wouldn’t want to go overboard and look like the neighborhood crazy lady.)
Then we plant. And then the work is set before us. Do we accept? I’ll be super honest and say this year, that was a negatory. Oh I worked…for about a month. As it turns out, that’s not enough. Diligence is a lesson we learn every warm season and we get closer every year to the plentiful crop we envision.
I said all of that to say this: even though we get scared, anxiety-ridden, worried beyond our wits, our Father is there to comfort. We can visualize all the fire-breathing dragons burning up all our hard work. We can watch as we think it’s going to crumble before our weary eyes. We can think that we pray and believe in vain, but that, beautiful people, is not the truth. It’s that simple. That is not the truth. God speaks to us when we use our precious time to listen. Each and every single time we “sacrifice” our time, amazing things happen. Give Him everything. He wants it and quite frankly, we don’t. We don’t need all the thoughts and worries that bog us down, causing our minds to flood like a tricky gas pedal.
God says He’ll give wisdom when asked for it and the Holy Spirit is there for us. God knew we would need comfort or there world be no need for Him to send us a Comforter. This life isn’t all zinnias and sunshine. But our God is there when we need Him, no matter what monsters we face.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

