From Scolding to Singing

Standard

God spoke to Zephaniah awhile back and upon first read, I thought, well, that’s not too pretty. He’s layin’ out cities, destroying homes, businesses, and people. Eek! What happened to the kind God I know? Theeeeeeeeeeen, I realized that He was doing all this a) to those who have cursed His beloved name, shaken their self-righteous fists at Him, caused sin, and worshipped everything from the stars to bejeweled idols. b) after hmmmm, how many years of taking it? This is a God Who has waited, a lot more patiently than I ever could have, for people He created to stop cursing and condemning those who follow their Creator and look to Him for help. In Zephaniah 1:12, God states that He will punish complacency. After looking the word up, I realized I only thought I knew what it meant. To be complacent means “showing smug or uncritical satisfaction with oneself or one’s achievements,” “self-satisfied, smug,” “pleased, especially with oneself or one’s merits,” “often without awareness of some potential danger.” (Taken from Google and Dictionary.com)

We are in danger if we are happy with where we are, with no goals to move forward. God calls us to be hot or cold, but never lukewarm. Complacency in my mind is someone who is content with what “they’ve accomplished” and has no fear of what God can do; someone who kicks back, celebrating all they’ve done.

Zephaniah 3:17 states that God is not only with us, but He is the Mighty Warrior Who saves and He’ll take great delight in you. In His love, He will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing. HOT diggity!! I spent years thinking God was looking for ways to punish me for what I’d done wrong in this life and all the ugly thoughts I had. I am His daughter. If I was plucking petals from a daisy, I would only need half of the “poem”: He loves me, He loves me, He loves me! His vengeance is not for me. He’s waited a long time to sing over me. What more could you need?

I learned a few things from this book, Zephaniah:

  1. God fights our battles and protects us from those who have no reverence for Him.
  2. He’s not scared.
  3. There’s coming a day when He won’t be silent toward those who don’t believe.
  4. There’s still time for those who don’t believe.
Leave a Reply

