Facts & Feelings

Standard

“Be exalted, O Lord, in your strength: we will sing and praise your might.” I don’t feel very strong today. Pastor has been doing a series called “I am because He is _________.” As believers, we get to be God’s kids. Just like you tell your children how great they are if/when they fail, God lovingly instills in our spirit how cool we are. He will explain to us us what and who we are if we let Him. Some may look at that as a negative, puffing up their chests and raising their chin a little higher, stating, “No one’s gonna tell me nothin’.I don’t need anything from anyone.” I know this due to the fact that the rebellious spirit exhibited here was mine a few years back. Iget to call people out because I’ve been there. See how that works? (Same with smokers, I can look someone in the eye and tell them all kinds of things because I’m an ex-smoker. It gives me some kind of pass…one that isn’t considered self-righteousness. I love free passes!)

I didn’t want anyone telling me anything, not even God Himself and He tends to know what He’s talking about. I had this ugly, “I’ll do it all by myself” -attitude and thought I didn’t need anyone’s help. I wound up in a place where I not only needed help, I needed the Almighty Himself’s help. No one else could get me out of the pit of addiction, depression, and apathy I found myself in. Not only did I feel weak, I didn’t feel like a child of the Most High God. There are facts and there are feelings. Many live in the feelings realm and never leave it. I’m not sure I would have if it weren’t for God and some folks who faithfully prayed.

FACT: We are made in His image (Genesis 1:27) and the image in the mirror is to be a reflection of Him. FEELING: This seems utterly overwhelming to me most days. In fact, I’ve never woke up, even on a good day, and thought, “God, aren’t you just so proud of me? I am exactly like You!” I’m not sure I’d want to hang out with anyone who thought that either.

It’s a process. We are His process. (“He’s still workin’ onnn me…”) How many processes don’t take time? Oodles and oodles of time. I want to be strong. I want to be meek. I want to be loving. I want to be compassionate to the man in the car driving 17 miles per hour in front of me on a day when I’m running late. (I’m always running late, so the odds of this happening on a day when I am are pretty good.) We don’t need to compare ourselves to God like we would instinctively to someone we admire or consider a role model. He is us. We are Him. Everything and more that Jesus did while He was here on earth, we can do. (John 14:12) When’s the last time you did something like Jesus did? I was happy I got the dishes done yesterday, but I don’t remember performing any other miracles. God is strong and able to do all things with power, love, and a sound mind. (2 Timothy 1:7) Believe big and that more is possible today. Don’t go on feelings and the thoughts you’ve heard in your head all your life. That tired audio is probably far from the truth. Accept this as fact:  know that our Creator does not lie. He never has and He never will. His Word is true and we are ________ because He is.

Leave a Reply

