Peaceful Drama

Standard

What keeps you grounded? When you have a day where you think you’re gonna lose it (you know the kind right? The ones where you keep saying over and over to yourself, “I’m gonna lose it!”) who do you run to? For many of us, it may be a parent, a best friend, a sister or brother. What keeps us from automatically telling God what’s up? I think our pride gets in the way first off. Secondly, I think we secretly, although sometimes not so secretly, love the drama. Our flesh tries to thrive on it. If we have something to talk about, er, complain about, then we fit in here. We are a part of something, like the popular crowd in high school. (Oh man, did I just give away that I wasn’t a part of the popular crowd in high school? If you were in it, you didn’t call it the “popular crowd.” I have an audience of one nowadays, praise God!)
So, why do we want to be proud and dramatic? Were we created this way? An inherent design that we can never shake? We are to die daily, meaning that our wants become secondary to what our Creator wants. Our needs come second. We are to ask what He needs from us today and what He wants us to be today. Oddly enough, this is the recipe for joy. I’d trade drama for joy any day. We are to SHOUT for joy to the Lord, all the earth! Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the Lord is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his holy name. For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations. (Psalm 100)
We do our best to be faithful to Him, which is extremely difficult some days, but we are to quit worrying because each day has enough trouble of its own (Matthew 6:31-34) and focus on what’s important. Have you ever worried yourself into peace? Yeah, me neither.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

