Hope Vs. 3D’s

Standard

One of the descriptions of God is the “God of hope” (Romans 15:13) and to be honest, it was a wake-up call. I stopped using the word “hope” for a long time because I didn’t like my mental picture of it. I visualized a person just sitting and hoping…doing nothing…hoping instead of doing. It personally drives me a tad crazy when people say, “I hope you get to feeling better” or “I hope you do well.” I always thought, “Don’t hope, PRAY!” I need prayers, not a “mere hope” or a wish.
Therein lies the issue: I equated “hope” with “wish” and our God is not a God of wishes. He instills so much more than that. Discouragement, depression, disgust and a whole bunch of other words beginning with “d” and other letters dissolve, disintegrate and disperse! (I had to go with it. I read a lot of Dr. Seuss these days.)
The fact is: our hope is in the God of hope. Meditate on that today. He doesn’t fail; He will not let you down. He never has and He’s not gonna start now. Don’t let all the ugliness of this world overwhelm you. Conciously make a choice to place your hope in Him today. That’s not doing nothing.

4 responses »

  1. I absolutely love this! Hope! Hit me right where I live today. Always love reading your stuff sis. You challenge, uplift, and INSPIRE me! Love you!

Leave a Reply

