The Minimus…Ahhhh…

Standard

So, I’m not one to advertise brand names, but I just ordered and received a new pair of New Balance shoes. On the tag, I noticed, under the name, it says “Minimus.” This got me to thinking. (*Note: See previous article on “thinking too much.”) Instead of this company shouting from the rooftops about their awesome “maximized” shoes, they took a different approach, a minimalist one if you will.

I began to think about the things we’re supposed to do as believers. Matthew 28:18-20 states:
Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”(NIV)

As humans, we complicate things to the point where we don’t even know what we’re talking about. We not only can’t explain it, we can’t follow it. If we simplified the Word of God and acted, how would our journey change? If you people, who are called by my name, would pray… the “minimus” of our “to-do” list…can it be that simple?

How many questions bombarded your mind right then when God asked you to pray? Oh, I had a few, I’ll admit. How? When? What do you want me to pray? For how long? Why on Your earth is it called a closet?? I can’t fit into my closet! That’s just an expression right? (Wouldn’t wanna lose my “Overthinkers Club” card.)

I was driving behind a van that was not going nearly the speed I felt she should be. I have a horrible habit of trying to make people travel faster with sheer mind power. It never works, don’t even bother attempting it. As I was about to floor it and pass, with a wave of course (we have to be neighborly Christians) I thought, Why don’t YOU just slow down? This is really difficult for me. Slowing down, whether it be physically, mentally, and any other “–ally’s” you can name. It’s a skill that doesn’t come naturally to me, even though I’ve been thrown into the “easy-goin’” category by friends.

So, to make a long story even longer, I noticed the van had a handicapped license plate. God instantly reminded me to pray. The very first thought I had was, Shouldn’t I lay hands on them? After all, that is what the Bible says. And if that’s the case, well, I can’t very well do THAT, can I?” followed by, “Oh dear God, don’t make me follow them to lay hands and pray!!” (EEK! Skeery! Adios Comfort Zone!) At this point, I pictured God dropping his shaking head and sighing, possibly uttering the words, “Have I taught you nothing?”

So after a slight discussion that could be considered, in some circles, an argument, I began to pray. Instantly the anger and frustration I had with regard to the van left the scene and a sense of overwhelming compassion for the people in the vehicle swept over me like a drenched surfer. I prayed for healing and peace and comfort and joy and salvation. I praised God that they would know him better than they ever had in the coming year. I sang Hallelujah’s because of it.

What if that’s all I had to do today? The minimus. Not the overwhelming maximus in my overworked brain. What if doing what God asks us to do is enough? What if we don’t have to have a meeting of the elders? What if God wants to work through us in a HUGE way, requiring less than we ever dreamed on our part?

What if He, the Creator of the Universe, doesn’t need our input, doesn’t need to be reminded of what His Word says? What if He just wants us to do what He asks, RIGHT then? No question. No doubt. Just DO it. New Balance and Nike in one article…maybe they’ll send me free shoes.

Go do something for God this week. You don’t even have to come up with it. He’ll let you know. Even if it means chasing a man on the side of the road down. Another story for another time. Life in Christ is anything but boring.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

