Stephens and Spandex

Standard

Reflections are my specialty. My dad, when I was growing up, would say to me regularly, “You think too much.” Looking back, thinking (pause for chuckle), I don’t know what he was complaining about. Sure, he was male, still is, by the way, and a lot of times guys aren’t so wrapped up in feelings and emotions and the dreaded conversations that flow along with those, but I don’t know how to “not think.”

I catch myself thinking about things and ideas that many do not. Many a time, I have said, “Know what I mean?” only to be faced with a look of sheer terror. Ok, maybe “sheer terror” is a bit of a stretch. For example, I have wondered what would happen if all Christians had to wear one of those zip-up, faceless suits, you know the ones that come in all different colors and you’ll see them at various sporting events? Would we be more bold? Or would we still be self-conscious, scared silly that someone might find out who we were behind the spandex, or whatever those things are made of?

What stops us from being who Christ called us to be? How in the world do we expect to make a change in this lifetime if we won’t even say “GOD bless you!” when someone sneezes or hold a door for someone or help an older woman to her car with her groceries?

On the flip side, how do we live boldly? How are we so daring that people take note of it? Would it take wearing a neon suit to get people’s attention for Jesus? Do we have to wear a T-shirt with some brand name “Christianized” to let people know who we are? Is living it enough? How do we let others know our beliefs? Do we have to publicly proclaim on a sturdy box with a cardboard sign that God heals and saves? Can we do this quietly? If so, why would we want to do so quietly?

I hope this serves as a challenge to evaluate and reevaluate what you believe and how you portray it to others. My prayer tonight is for all the “Stephen’s” (Acts 7) out there who are truly making a difference in the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

