Church=hypocrites?

Standard

God knows JUST what people need. We don’t’ have to know—we just have to be his, well, mouth!!!!! I’ve heard we are to be His hands and feet, but I prefer mouth as I am all about speaking. God simply needs someone willing to say what He wants His kids to hear! I recently spoke with a man, we’ll call him Dale, because that’s his name. Just kiddin’, or am I? (God restored joy in my life a while back so sometimes you have to keep up with the silly. I may even get to a point or 5.)

Dale says he’s never going to church. Dale was raised in church, even been around some “tongue-talkers” in his day, who, by the way, scared the life out of him as a young lad. Dale got sick and exhausted (I have eliminated the word “tired” from my vocabulary…explanation in a future article.) of people talkin’ nice, smilin’, shakin’ hands and “Bless you brother”-brothers and “Oh, dear Lord, be with her”-sisters every Sunday morning. (*Disclaimer: There’s nothing wrong with people who make these statements genuinely.) By Tuesday…let’s be real, by Sunday morning on the way home, these people aren’t utterin’ any blessings. See, even as a kid, people know when God isn’t real in someone’s life. The “brothers” and “sisters” acted one way on Sundays, like a close-knit family, then when one needed help, real help, whoooooosh!!…tumbleweeds. Dale didn’t see anyone livin’ it out.

Soooo, fast forward a few, maybe 40-50 years, and here sits Dale, knowing God’s real, but not seein’ enough of Him in real people. He’d rather sit out in the woods on a Sunday morning than be surrounded by people who preach and don’t practice. Church=hypocrites. True? Untrue?

Dale wants to know what heaven’s gonna be like and all the things Jesus did. He wants to walk hand in hand with our Savior but doesn’t know how to get there. He wants to keep living, or really start living, but doesn’t know how. Where does he go? Can he, could he, go to your church? Or would he find people that turn their heads, acting like they see someone they know, or maybe really seeing someone they know, over in the other corner? If he set foot in your church this Sunday, would he feel God’s love or would he sigh and do an eye roll, taking another spiritual kick to the ribs?
Are you like Dale? If so, give it one more shot. I dare you. God’s got something so amazingly cool in store for you if you will just put your heart on the line one more time. You won’t regret it. I promise. You don’t have to do anything…just let God/Holy Spirit lead you. Pray a prayer that goes something like this one: God, I don’t know what I’m doing, but You do. Forgive me. Lead me to a church that believes in you and teaches what you want me to learn. Show me how real You are. I wanna know You and have an awesome relationship with You, not religion. In Jesus name I ask, Amen. (In Jesus name article coming soon!)

An open heart is what it takes. Put it out there just one more time and God’s gonna show you all the repairs He can do as well as the restoration of your peace (ahhhh…) and joy (Yipppppppppeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!) and love (maybe even the “hippie-dippie kind.)
Have an awesomely blessed day!!!

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

One response »

  1. You know, Sis… I once had this same mentality. I was raised to believe that all “Christians” were hypocrites, that they were weird, and that you “could be just as good a “Christian” going out in the woods and sitting on a log” as you could setting foot in church. And then I met Jesus! To make a long story short…or longer…I don’t know…even as a Christian, I began to think the same way as before I accepted Christ. But there was a lot of hurt and a lot of scars which built up over the years and began to distort my way of thinking… and even my walk with Him! It took a healing from the inside out, from the One who is The Great Physician, to clear my mind and my heart and set me back on the right track. Sounds surreal, I know, but it is VERY REAL, and it really happened, and I am NOT the same person that I once was. You can ask my husband. I now have a RELATIONSHIP with the Lord, with the Holy Spirit. I’m growing more and more every day. And I’m not afraid to tell & encourage anyone who has doubts, fears, scars, hurts, or whatever! But ya gotta let it go…ya just gotta let it go. Jesus is the ONLY way to get past your….past!

Leave a Reply

