Diligently Undiligent

Standard

Type in “diligent” on the Biblos website and 43 results pop up in approximately o.o4 seconds, give or take a nanosecond or two. “Diligent.” Diligent is the opposite of lazy in my mind, but it’s more than that. In our society, we are able to flit from one topic or activity or goal easily and incredibly quickly (Note: Exactly how long is 0.04 seconds?) God calls us to persevere, be persistent, to accomplish tasks, not half-way anything or quit, deciding for whatever reason we or they aren’t worth the effort. God’s plan is worth the effort! I don’t think this is news to anyone who believes, so what stops us from being diligent in doing anything for God?

Busyness. Noise. Distraction. How many times in a day is there complete quiet in your house? It’s my belief that we’re scared of quiet. We have things on “for the noise.” My soul cries out for peace and serenity these precious days as I have very little of either…unless I am diligent in seeking it out. That’s when God chooses to meet us. Yes, He can meet us in the middle of that reality series, but why would He feel the need to compete for our attention like one of the contestants?

As I pondered these things, (with my finger on my chin as that’s how I ponder anything), I realized that I can’t think of a single thing I would consider myself “diligent” in doing. Brushing my teeth? I even forgot to do that a couple days ago… (For those of you cringing and judging in disgust, let’s see how many things you don’t get accomplished with 2 babies in the house. I know there are mama’s out there nodding with me right now.) Emptying the dishwasher? That comes more out of necessity than love of the game.

God calls us as believers to be diligent in doing what He wants done.

The very definition of diligent wears me out this morning: “constant in effort to accomplish something; attentive and persistent in doing anything, done or pursued with persevering attention; painstaking.”

I think our diligence-o-meter is what determines how close we can get to God. After all, it’s not His choice. We already know where He stands after He allowed His son to die the death He did for us. It’s ours. We can continue on, happy with ourselves and struggling with the pressures of daily life, teetering on that fine line between being honest and believing and speaking something more. We are to be students of Christ’s. When was the last time you found yourself learning anything diligently?

I see a picture of a young girl studying for a med school exam, surrounded by stacks of books, buried in definitions, downing extra-strong coffee to prove her diligence and aptitude regarding the topic. What if we were that same picture with God, our Bible, and that same strong coffee? What could God show us? Where are the Davids and the Esthers of this lifetime? We have been blessed with many gifts and one of them is our ability to be diligent…if we want to be. Pick up your Bible, pray, and quit making excuses. Be diligent in getting to know the One Who is diligent in blessing you.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

