The Smell of Rubber and God’s Word

Standard

So I needed, and I repeat, needed, time with God…which landed me in this place, the smell of rubber and dust infiltrating my nostrils.

Lately I can’t focus, which everyone explains, ad nauseum, is “normal” under my circumstances. If they only knew how much I detested that word: Normal. Are you normal? Am I normal? Who knows for sure and why do we care? (This is part of the reason I put the ax to my Psychology major. I was driving myself a bit batty.) “These circumstances”, are as follows: 2 kids, both under the age of 2, 1 who has been out of the NICU for almost a month now after a bout with pneumonia at birth and less sleep than I would like as well as a hubby in the same sleep-deprived boat. If you add this formula up, you get a total of “no time for God.” Or maybe no time in our traditional sense. I treasure my time in the mornings with a cup of strong coffee and my Bible, begging God to talk to me and gimme somethin’ really cool that not many people know. (Is that “normal”?) Lately I pick up my phone with its latest version of Youversion, politely reminding me I am now more than a little behind on the plan I chose a few months back.

Leviticus…Bluh…Can’t get into it…can’t work up a care as to what the Old Testament folks were to do with a “compensation offering” or a “peace offering,” let alone what they did when there was a discharge coming from their unmentionables. (How does this apply again, God?)

So here I am God, surrounded by Goodyears and Michelins, waiting to hear from you. I volunteered to come get the tires put on and aligned so that I could spend some time. Just me, You, and the smell of rubber. Fill me up Lord, because all I’m doing these days it seems is pouring out. I’m empty, needing you and fighting to remember that I do. Thank You God for your love, kindness, and reminders of both…wherever they may come to me.

I put the best book in the world down and ponder. Why don’t we have time for God these days? What is it that’s taking The Almighty’s place? I challenge myself and you this week to find what that “time-sucker” might be. The cool thing is we can ask God to show us…to save time. *wink.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

6 responses »

  1. Ohh, honey! You just said everything I’m going through. Well…with the exception of 2 kids under the age of 2. *wink* Truthfully, I’m feeling rather “empty” myself, and having a little difficulty with the whole “spending time with God” thing. And I’ll tell ya something…I MISS IT! I miss HIM! And I know that He didn’t move, I did. I’m just trying to figure out when I did it. So glad though that He is patient, merciful, and always ready to get me back on track. Aren’t you? Love ya, Sis!

    • Thanks Shelley! It’s time to fight!! That’s what I keep hearing…whether I’m in prayer or speaking with a friend who’s struggling. FIGHT!! *personalized battle cry is a must.

  2. “You, me and the smell of rubber.” That is a hugely impactful line. I really like the smell of tires so maybe that would be awesome. It was really weird reading this and smelling tires. Great post and description. I too don’t understand most of Leviticus but I actually made my first journey through it last year. So far this year, I haven’t been back to it yet. Peace and blessings.

Leave a Reply

