Distracted

Standard

Distracted. Literally, as I am in the middle of typing that word, I have a box that pops up, asking me if I would like to download blah-be-dee-blah. Take a look around and take note of all the distractions that surround you today. See if anyone looks you in the eye, smiles, and says hello. If in fact, you do see anyone do this, take inventory of your feelings about it.

This is such a rare occurrence that after almost being bumped or ran over a few times, either by distracted pedestrian-texters or drivers, it got me to reflecting. A few short years ago, when I was a child (grin), I noticed that people who did not smile and say hi were out of the norm. Nowadays it’s the opposite. (eek, I’m not that young…I use terms like “nowadays;” next thing you know I’ll be telling stories of how someone’s “givin’ me the business.”) I used to notice how many people were on the phone while driving and now it’s easier to count how many are not.

I saw a semi-driver reading and writing, filling out some sort of paperwork with a cup of joe in his other hand. I’m not sure of how much that particular vehicle weighs, but I’m sure it needs someone to steer the wheel. After all, if autopilot was one of the features, he’d be out of a job. A woman screeched in front of me in the grocery store parking lot yesterday with a cigarette in one hand, (no condemnation from me…I inhaled chemical after stinky chemical for years) a phone in the other, while simultaneously trying to steer that pesky 2-ton vehicle. Driving is an afterthought anymore, just like people are. This is not how it should be!

Don’t let people become a distraction for you! People are the very reason Jesus gave His life. We are to show the love of God, not show God how many things we can do at once without killing someone! We are to radiate God’s goodness and we can’t do that if we’re trying to balance three or four tasks at once. That’s why distraction is key in the war against us as believers. If we are distracted long enough, we completely forget about our mission while we’re here on this earth. God asks for our time…our most precious of gifts…our precious, undistracted time.

Leave a Reply

