Miss You, Tobe

Standard

Let the glory of the Lord rise among us. This is the song I’ve had in my head each morning this week upon awakening. Also upon awakening, I check to see if my beloved kitty cat of 7 years has miraculously returned from the grave to lay in her usual spot on the couch. I see a dark mass on the floor in the wee hours and mentally kick myself for wondering if it’s her. It’s been three weeks and I am just now to where I can even mention it and that is not without tears. See I met Tobey, a girl kitty cat, mind you (named before we’d thoroughly checked anatomy), one afternoon after she’d been bathed, clipped, and scrubbed at the vet’s office. This was a trip my husband had made after the decision to adopt the feline that kept showing up under his truck at his workplace. Once my cans of tuna and can opener started disappearing, I no longer questioned why she continued making this appearance. She was a scraggly thing and I never once thought we needed a cat in the house…litterbox: ick. hairballs: gross. hair, period: no more black outfits. Then I held her as the vet tech passed her to me that day. She literally put her head on my shoulder, thanking me. Love at first hairwad.

From then on, she was the center of our lives. “Tobey jumped so high! Tobey did a flip!! Tobey killed a mouse…noooo, wait, the mouse must’ve had a heart attack.” Tobey wasn’t a killer in any way shape or form. We determined that she must have sniffed him, tried to give him a hug, which consequently resulted in heart failure for the rodent. We laughed at the times she’d fall asleep on the couch, then fall off the back when she forgot where she was. She literally fell out of a window one spring afternoon because she pushed the screen out. My husband and I looked at each other as parents would, first concerned and then surprised, immediately springing into action to rescue, then laughing uproariously at the wide-eyed critter awoken from a sound sleep.

Our God takes us to new times, new places in our lives, and new experiences. Our “center” has changed, as it does when God blesses a couple with a child, resulting in a family. Tobey is so greatly missed, but the experience of knowing her was one of the greatest blessings of them all. We thank God for the time we got to spend with her as her beautifully sweet personality remains a constant in our minds.

Leave a Reply

