Overcome

Standard

Overcome. This word comes to mind as I think about how we, as human beings, suffer loss. Have you ever sat in the middle of a funeral and felt overcome by what you felt? Like you couldn’t catch your breath or maybe you put your hand to your chest to make sure you were really there. The hurt of your heart was so great you thought you might not make it through it. We have suffered some very real hurts this past year and as I look back, I wonder how I ever would have made it through without Jesus.

If you think this to be an odd statement, then you don’t know Jesus as He wants you to know Him. You see, God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are all one. They are one, but separate entities. (“My thoughts are higher than your thoughts” comes to mind when I try to wrap my brain around this one.) God has designed a beautifully intricate system here. I’ve gotten to a place where I don’t try to grasp it, I just accept it. The Holy Spirit is the one I’ve been working on getting to know better these days. Jesus said back when He was on the earth that when He left, a Comforter and Helper would be sent. When’s the last time you looked to the Holy Spirit for help and comfort? I don’t know what your background is, but mine wasn’t one that looked upon the Holy Spirit as a day-to-day guide. I simply didn’t know too much about Him. And I say “Him” because the Holy Spirit is a person—He is God. Don’t give up trying to understand here as I have before. Just accept that God is the Holy Spirit and the Holy Spirit is God. In God’s plan, we have a constant help with us here on this planet through the Holy Spirit. Some of us just don’t know it yet. But once we figure out that it’s up to us to get the relationship ball rollin’, there’s no end to what we can accomplish. May the grace of God and His Spirit be a constant comfort to you today and this week, whatever you may be going through.
In Memory of Gillie—we thank God for the time we got to share with you in this lifetime.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

