Worrier or Warrior?

Standard

“Whiners cannot be warriors.” Beth Moore made this statement and as I lay in bed last night, I thought about how worriers can’t be either. If you begin to watch the words that come out of your mouth, on a daily basis, “Drive careful! Ohhhh, I hope it turns out ok. I don’t know what the doctors are going to do this time. The cancer is “incurable.” It just won’t heal. I’m so concerned! I’m really stressing out about this. What if…?”
Some of these statements are spoken out of habit, but also out of pure worry. We cannot be the awesome headstrong warriors God wants us to be if we can’t get our minds off the ugliness of the situation. We think about the worst! A friend of mine just had a heart attack and the very first thought that entered my brain was: “Oh no! What will she do with 6 kids all by herself!?” I know I’m not wrong in that this ugly thought did not come from God. I immediately corrected myself and began praying that this would be a beginning for him and not the end of his story. We can’t let our brains go wherever they want to or they’ll drive us into a pit of negativity, stress, and worry.

You might think this a tad extreme, but in an effort to control where my thoughts went, I stopped saying “Drive careful.” I really got to thinking about what that statement implied.
1. The individual, if not a careful driver, might end up hurt, disabled, or dead.
2. Even if they are a careful driver, accidents happen.
3. The driver may hurt someone else or worse and Oh! How bad they would feel if that happened!

I didn’t like the implications of any of the three. I had a friend stop me the other day and say, “Drive careful! I mean it.” She said this with one of the most concerned looks I’d ever seen on a human face. I know it came from a place of well, concern, and care, but what did she think? That I wouldn’t be careful had she not told me? That I’d peel out of the parking lot where we’d met for lunch, tires squealing and leaving the smell of burnt rubber and black marks on the pavement, only to get out on the highway, traveling 85, and remember, “Ohhhhh wait! She said, “Careful!” I almost forgot!”

Ok, so I have an imagination and I like to belabor the point at times, but what does this boil down to? Trusting God to take care of things. He has a pretty good, no wait, AWESOME, track record of taking care of His children! So why are we constantly worried about the attack instead of the offense?

I’ve known some who speak about the enemy or the devil and what he’s doing more than what God is. We, as believers, have to be on the lookout, of course, because the Bible says he prowls around like a lion, seeking whom he can devour (1 Peter 5:8) but that can’t be the only thing on our brains! After all, this is not a pure and lovely and good (Phillipians 4:8) topic to consume our minds with! I wonder what we could accomplish today if we didn’t worry and trusted our Creator to deal with it all. We might just be on our way to being warriors.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

