Not Proud of How Proud I Am

Standard

So I wake up to a hungry baby, but also to this title. Ouch! Wasn’t exactly how I’d planned to start my day…neither at 4:30, nor having God bring this to my attention. Lately I’ve been struggling with feeling somewhat proud. Maybe not so much with friends or my church family, ok, maybe those too…but more so with complete strangers. The ones who don’t look like me, or think like me, or act like me, or have the same values as me. (Who does that leave?) I mean, let’s face it: Some people just make you feel smarter! The guy at the grocery store who can’t seem to figure out how much more money he needs to give the cashier in 10 minutes or less. The woman who cut you off while chatting on her cell and doing a quick polish check simultaneously. The spouse who seems oblivious to the piles of not-so-clean clothes and stacks of less-than-shiny dishes scattered across what can only be the “Before” picture of some home makeover show that resembles your house.
Women have a tendency to take on everything. Let’s face it ladies, we are good at a lot of things! Organizing, categorizing, cleaning, encouraging, collaborating, cooking, listening, the list could go on, but I have too much to do to finish it…
Our minds dart from our children’s lunches to our husband’s appointment to what to fix for dinner to how much money’s in the account. All those thoughts, a lot of times, take less than 5 minutes! It’s easy to take on this, “Why can’t you see it my way??” mentality and look down on those around us who aren’t goin’ with our flow. We must humble ourselves before the Living God each and every day.
God forgive us for putting our day and our to-do lists before You and not placing them before You at Your feet. We know that it’s only through You we are able to get anything accomplished. Thank you for showing us that woman in Proverbs 31 as she provides the example of what our thoughts and actions should reflect.

Leave a Reply

