Herod Didn’t Win

Standard

So as I’m reading in my Bible(I have lofty goals of finishing within the next month…I started 2 days ago), I find myself starting with Matthew. I must admit I skipped the “Genealogy of Jesus” in the 1st Chapter, but decided the “Visit of the Magi” which just sounds oh-so-cool was a great place to pick up! Lately I’ve been feeling so overwhelmed and defeated. You know the kind of stress you have when it actually hurts to relax your shoulders? I’ve been dealing with stress far beyond my capacity to conquer, but hey, that’s what our God’s for, right? Thank you Jesus!
As the story goes, the Magi, or wise men (for the life of me, I wonder what makes them so wise, other than being able to follow a star to find the baby of a lifetime…or maybe that’s enough. Hmmm…) find Jesus, yet neglect to tell King Herod at that time where He was. The reason they left and took another route outta the country was not because they were so wise, but because of a dream! God talked to them in their sleep! Are we that open to hearing God? That we would follow a star, then not do what the KING told us to do? Rebellious Magi…even cooler.
So the first idea that stood out to me was the fact that we need to be more open to God and His gentle voice.
The second? Herod didn’t win. He had the money, the fame, the power, the lackeys, and more! He wanted Jesus dead, a “defenseless” baby Jesus at that because of his jealousy. What an ego!
As believers, we fight. We continue the fight, and listen for and to God’s calling. We follow Him, not the one who appears to be in power here on Earth. There is a fight and there is a winner. Herod didn’t win. And the stresses and obstacles in your life and mine will not win either. Who knows? Maybe we’ll be described as Magi someday!

Leave a Reply

