Ridiculous Appointments

Standard

If it doesn’t make you feel ridiculous, I’m wonderin’ if it’s God at all. Are we really dealing with a boring, mundane, usually-typical God? Or are we children of a Wonderfully-Amazing, Unbelievably-Cool, Awesome God?  Recently I saw a man I used to know driving down the road. “Something” told me to follow him, so of course I did. I quickly whipped around and did a U-ey because I just knew for sure it was God’s voice I heard and felt. HA!

Ok, so it took some re-figuring of my day, as typically if we are in a vehicle, we are going somewhere. I am also not proud to admit that I questioned that still, small voice. After all, I didn’t really know this guy all that well. I couldn’t possibly just flag him down and start a conversation, could I? Would I? That’d be ridiculous! Then, I recalled the prayer I had prayed that morning:  I had told God I would go where He wanted me to go and talk to who He wanted me to talk to that day. As I continued in the opposite direction of the man I used to know, I realized without a shadow of a doubt that I was supposed to speak to Him. I believe I even muttered, “Okay, okaaaaay…” in a somewhat teenager-y tone.

But, within the next few seconds, I knew it was my Father speaking to me. That’s how cool my God is! There was no more questioning! There wasn’t well, I dunno if that was Him or not…I KNEW.

If we take the time to listen, and practice listening, and then respond when we think we hear Him, eventually, He’ll begin to trust us with some pretty amazing things! And at the same time, we don’t have to question if it was truly Him because we get to know Him. We get a feel for what He has a heart for. We become friends. And there is nothing cooler under the sun and the heavens than a friendship with One Who made you! There are no limitations on us, there is nothing we cannot do, nothing we cannot handle and nothing we cannot conquer and use for the Kingdom. One of the reasons we are “more than conquerors” is God then uses the trials and situations we go through. (1 Corinthians 10:13) He uses it to help others and remind us of Whom He is. He can shine brighter because of what He’s brought us through. Upon speaking with this man, I realized he was having a really hard time physically. He asked how I was doing with my so-called syndrome. I told him that I was now working part-time, after having a baby I was supposed to “hold off on,” and it was due to my God.  I had prayed for wisdom and asked that He lead me to the right people and He did just that. (James 1:5) What an amazing God I serve! There was a divine appointment there in that parking lot that I almost missed! I’m so glad God is taking the time to remind me to take the time to listen! =)                                                                                                                                                                                                    

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

