Pray, Breathe, Then Dance

Standard

It’s amazing what a day of frustration brings out in a gal. My daughter, although only 4 months old, seems to be on the opposing team some days. She has begun to cry and whimper when I put her down. This is not supposed to happen. My friend said, “We warned her this would happen” to my daughter in a sing-song-y melodic way. (You know how people speak through children and babies? It’s the most passive-aggressive way of communication I’ve ever encountered at times.) Ahhhhhh, there’s that guilt I’d been missing for an entire 12 minutes! I can feel already that this is something I’m gonna have to give to God right away or it’s going to build into something monumental where I need pills. Stress and anxiety is the leading cause for doctor visits these days and I’d be right there behind the guy with OCD…can you imagine having OCD, I mean real OCD in this world?? How horrible! This world is so chaotic and out of order—it doesn’t get any more disorganized than our everyday lives! Ok, back to task. Instead of getting a prescription filled for those ever-popular pills, I’m going to turn to God’s Word.
Matthew 6:34 tells us not to worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble on its own. I absolutely love this and let me tell you why. Jesus knows! Jesus knows it’s not a cake walk here on earth! (Where did I get that expression, anyway? Is a cake walk that musical chairs game the elder ladies played at our little town’s homecoming? I’ll have to check on that.) And, task at hand: Jesus isn’t saying we’re not gonna have trouble. He’s not saying there aren’t going to be worries and stress and anxiety. He’s telling us we don’t have to worry about our worries! Everybody, deep breath, hold, now release. Isn’t that great? For those of you unfamiliar with breathing, take a breath in, through your nose as that’s where blood is oxygenated, for a count of 4, then exhale for a count of 6. Sounds simple, right? Then why is there a line at the pharmacy? Because we forget to breathe! It slips our mind that we as God’s children have the wonderful benefit of not bothering ourselves with the concerns of tomorrow! We don’t become anxious, we pray. We don’t have the answers, but God does.
I started scheduling time to pray not long ago. And if someone asks me to pray, I just might surprise them by grabbing their hand and praying right there. (I’m a new mom juggling a baby, a husband, and a house. What are the odds I’m going to remember to ask God to heal your big toe later?) We are to be a praying people. If I say I’ll pray for you and truly believe that what I ask for will be yours, how could we possibly take that lightly? I finally realized that prayer is HUGE. Prayer is our ticket to peace of mind and tranquility. We can trust God that He is going to do exactly what He’s got planned and His plans are always for good. We patiently wait for Him to do what He’s going to do and in the meantime, we don’t scratch our heads, picking at our fingernails, and dance around like we have to use the bathroom. We rest in the knowledge that he takes care of birds, for cryin’ out loud! (Matt. 6:26, 28) He provides the sparrows with what they need to survive. He’s going to take care of us too, no matter what the situation looks like. Period. So quit doin’ the pee-pee dance, pray about it, then…breathe. And if you’re really advanced, you can throw a smile on your face too. =)

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

