Anti-Social Networking?

Standard

Why social networking? To cultivate and create those realationships that we no longer have time to have. Facebook is an outlet for many to de-stress. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my Facebook, perhaps too much. I say this because I constantly have funny ideas or thoughts to put on there, much like I did prior to the social network site. However, NOW I have a place to vent or share! Everyone gets to hear my thoughts! Everyone can laugh because of me! What power! What a revelation! What…self-centeredness. Ouch. God says____________. (I’m leaving this blank so that we can both take the time to find out what His Word says on the matter.) Take the time to nourish your relationships the old-fashioned way: a card, or even better, a letter! A visit-Yes, a VISIT with someone where you don’t say, “Well, I can’t stay long, sooooo….” A telephone call just to check to see how someone’s doing. A hug with a question of “How are you doing today?” Then, ok, ready, wait for and listen to the answer with follow-up questions! The devil works on distractions and I find that the lack of social skills, i.e. how humans used to interact with others, is a very effective attack. United we stand, divided we fall. I don’t know how many times I’ve read statuses like, “Reply to this if you care, but I’m sure you won’t.” The depression and the loneliness God’s children and unbelievers feel is palpable! Why? Because we are not taking the time any longer to make sure people are ok. Our lives are busy, yes, but are they too busy for the reason we’re here? Jesus is the reason we get out of bed. Jesus is the reason we have the money to buy groceries. Jesus is the reason we have the family we do. (*this could be an advantage or present a challenge or perhaps “growth opportunity” for you!) Jesus is the reason we are able to look not at the bad in the world, but the beautiful inner workings of God’s most awesome plan! There needs to be balance. There needs to be a day or a couple hours a week you use facebook, but also take the time to ask God what He wants you to do, where He wants you to go, and who He wants you to visit. You’ll see amazing changes take place in both your attitude (or maybe lack thereof. Teehee!) and your outlook. Don’t let a social network be what pulls you away from Who should be the center of our socializing!

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

