Don’t Stop Boldly Believin’

Standard

David’s audacity in Psalm 26 just astounds me. “I have led a blameless life.” Really? Can any of us say that? I know there have been times when I whined and said, “Why me, God? I haven’t done anything wrong!” All the while in the back of my head, I’m thinking, “Oh yeah, there was that…” But a preacher on one of the Christian channels the other day said something to the effect of, noone in the Bible ever came to God “piously” with his hands folded and head bowed. We’re forgiven. We’re forgiven up one side and down the other. Thank God that He blesses our attempts, but also that He patiently waits for us to attempt! As I sat pondering this, it shook somethin’ up in me like a can of Mountain Dew riding in the passenger seat with Mario Andretti back in the day! WE have to be BOLD and with this new year we have to enter into it knowing full well Who we serve. We, as believers can’t be limited by our thinking, we have to adopt God’s way of thinking. Do you truly believe God is sitting there wondering how all this is gonna work out? How that bill will get paid, what will happen if the treatment doesn’t work, our brother’s job status? What if we entered into His presence knowing what He knows? Believing what He told us to believe? We are believers after all, right? What if we BOLDLY showed ourselves that we can do ALL things because we have Him on our side?
For me, a lot of this boils down to what people think. What would someone think if I asked to pray for them right there in the checkout line? He says we’ll have what we ask for in His name. Period. That may or may not mean that person in the wheelchair is going to get up and walk out of Huck’s because you prayed for him, but what if he did?! What if we get to heaven and that man comes strolling, or running, up to us thanking us for that day and our boldness? This year I wanna live for the after-effects in heaven, not the natural effects here on earth. We aren’t here long enough to worry about what other people think. Jesus is our model and He surely didn’t.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

