Polishin’ Shiny Things

Standard

Kay Arthur states that “what people believe determines how they ‘walk.'” This is taken from her Bible Study “How Do You Walk the Walk You Talk?”
Based on Ephesians 1 and 2, I’ve learned that we are chosen, blessed, and adopted into His family. We are saved due to grace, or ‘unmerited favor,’ not because of anything we personally have done. We can’t “volunteer” our way into the family. The Bible says we are raised up with Christ and not after we become perfect and flawless. We are made alive again when we still suck. Forgive my crassness if you need to. For so long, I thought, “I can’t do that! Have you heard the words that come out of my mouth sometimes??” or “You want me to go to church? Do you know where I was last night??” It always seemed a bit, to use an unbeliever’s favorite word, “hypocritical.” But that’s the way God designed it—to pull us up out of whatever crap we’re in and show what He, and only He, can do! He’s capable of anything, and He doesn’t waste His time polishing things that already shine!

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

Leave a Reply

