Silly birds?

Standard

As most of you know by now, I have been battling Chronic Fatigue Syndrome with a “touch” of Fibromyalgia. I am not happy with either of these diagnoses or their symptoms. I WAS (Praise God! Glory! Hallelujah!) taking medication for months, but now I’m on supplements to build my body back up. I have wrestled with many ideas over the past few months but one that has been bothersome lately is the idea of “alternative care.” Don’t get me wrong–I am ALL for anything that assists an individual in recouping from an illness IF that works for them. I suppose that’s where one could argue crack might help an individual and to that I would say: “No it won’t.”

However, I wonder, as a Christian, why I need these things (for instance, ionic footbaths) if God’s taken care of it. DO I need these things? God will take care of me whether I go to the doctor or not, I know this. I don’t know how and I don’t need to know. I simply have the faith because He has before and He will again. But, are these things helping me? Is this how He’s taking care of me? Is it through the doctors? Jesus said in The Book, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?”

Matthew 6:26 says: “Look at the birds of the air; they do  not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” I like what Joyce Meyer said in Battlefield of the Mind, “I have personally never seen a bird sitting on a tree branch having a nervous breakdown due to worry.” Can’t you see the bird in an oak tree, feathers flyin’, tufts standing on end, trying not to reach for a cigarette?

We have to do our part, but God knows what He’s doing! I haven’t exactly taken the best care of myself over the years and I think there’s some guilt that goes along with that, but I’m reminded that “even God cannot change the past.” Agathon (448 BC – 400 BC). The cool thing is He doesn’t even expect us to try!

So the silly birds do their part, collecting twigs and leaves, eatin’ berries, chirp-chirp-chirpin’ away, hoppin’ along at times, soarin’  through the air at others… not even knowing that God Almighty continues to do His part, providing for their every move. Maybe they do know…and that’s why they constantly sing. Maybe they’re not so silly after all, singin’ God’s praises and “reaping” all the benefits that go along with a relationship with Him. Maybe I could take a lesson from the birds…except I wouldn’t fly RIGHT in front of moving vehicles.

About chronicchristian

I am a mother of 2, married to the best man in the world for 10 years and chasing after what God wants for my life. I currently deal with some symptoms some like to refer to as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I refer to them as past symptoms as I believe God is doing something awesome and she who guards her lips guards her life. This blog is good therapy. Maybe not for you, but definitely for me. God is good and I intend to prove it.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve survived 20 years of CFS and my inner life has more than survived – it has grown.

    We do what we can for ourselves, using the tools God has given us (good doctors, good medicine if needed, knowledge that we can appeal to God as our supplement, etc.) and the rest, we work on relaxing about.

    Relax? Okay, it’s an ongoing battle. We all have anxieties and worries – it’s part of being human. Sometimes we are on top of them, sometimes they are on top of us.

    Jesus’ teachings about worry tell us it is a universal thing.

    We strive to overcome it – but we need God’s grace to do that – in ourselves, we’re not capable of it.

    So, I pray for strength. I pray for relief from my fears and anxieties. And I am given it – flooded with it – until the next time I forget whose hand holds mine.

    Sorry for sounding like a preacher – I’m certainly not qualified. I’m just another CFS’er who pursues an inner life. 🙂

    I wish you all manner of good things.

    • Fellow CFS’er,
      I completely agree with you re: growth of inner lives/faith. It has truly been a learning curve for me as I have always been a “Let’s git ‘er done, faster, faster, faster!–kinda gal” when it comes to…well, most anything (especially housework.) I have had to slow myself down, both mentally and physically, along with a constant check on my emotional status.

      I read that CFS’ers overexert themselves frequently. Isn’t that the understatement of the year? Let’s see, I have been able to do NOTHING but keep my feet up for fear of spasms, pains, muscle fatigue, migraines, etc. for almost a year. Now that I am functioning somewhat, after being completely UNfunctional (dysfunctional didn’t seem right, although usually, that IS the case…hehe) I overexert myself frequently/daily/possibly hourly. 🙂

      Please know that I truly treasure your comments, as this is not only “enjoyable therapy” for me, but hopefully and prayerfully for others as well. I hope you continue to read and offer comments as they are very much appreciated!

      P.S. I think anyone with a testimony, especially those with illnesses, are qualified to preach. 😉

      Zephaniah 3:17

Leave a Reply

